+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: number row/secondary characters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Portage Lakes, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    37

    number row/secondary characters

    Can't see/use secondary characters with dedicated number row showing?.....accidental or designed that way?? If designed that way....fail!!

  2. #2

    came here for this

    this is certainly a failed designed. we have been asking for this for years and when it comes, it takes away another beloved feature.

  3. #3
    It must be a bug and not by design! The secondary characters still work, but you must know where they are, a bit annoying this.
    Now: Gboard Keyboard.
    Formerly: Nuance-Swype Version: 2.2.3 (update-fixed with a Tasker Profile) on SGS4 with LineageOS 13.0







  4. #4
    Is it planned to fix this bug or is it a feature and keeps unchanged?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    178
    Swyping from the Sype key to the Y(6) key turns the whole keyboard into numbers. In my opinion, this is far quicker than wasting more of your screen with a dedicated number row.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by nedmartin View Post
    Swyping from the Sype key to the Y(6) key turns the whole keyboard into numbers. In my opinion, this is far quicker than wasting more of your screen with a dedicated number row.
    You can even do faster/easier, by long-pressing the ?123 key...

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by nedmartin View Post
    Swyping from the Sype key to the Y(6) key turns the whole keyboard into numbers. In my opinion, this is far quicker than wasting more of your screen with a dedicated number row.
    err no. If I want to enter a number - swyping to 6, then entering number, then hitting ABC to get back to the keyboard, is most certainly not quicker than just hitting the number...

  8. #8
    In 3.1 still unfixed.
    Now: Gboard Keyboard.
    Formerly: Nuance-Swype Version: 2.2.3 (update-fixed with a Tasker Profile) on SGS4 with LineageOS 13.0







  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by francwalter View Post
    In 3.1 still unfixed.
    Fixed in 3.2
    Now: Gboard Keyboard.
    Formerly: Nuance-Swype Version: 2.2.3 (update-fixed with a Tasker Profile) on SGS4 with LineageOS 13.0







  10. #10
    Hi. I had always asked myself about that and it was very annoying, until I found out that it has to do with the keyboard height. You need to increase the vertical height, in config menu for second caracteres to appear. Still annoying, but it works. Screenshots for example.

    Enviado de meu SM-N950F usando Tapatalk

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Allow number row use with secondary characters at the same time
    By vuanhle in forum Android Feature Requests
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-31-2017, 9:14 AM
  2. Number row
    By mjohas in forum Android Feature Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2017, 8:55 AM
  3. Special characters on number row
    By mcdole in forum Android Feature Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2016, 9:00 PM
  4. Number row is needed
    By daveshu22 in forum Android Feature Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2015, 9:54 AM
  5. Better selection of Secondary Characters
    By maffie in forum Android Feature Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2013, 1:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts