+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Change the keyboard layout to match the standard please!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Change the keyboard layout to match the standard please!

    Hi!

    Love your software, works amazingly well! The only problem is that the virtual Swedish keyboard does not match the default layout of the physical ones which leads to unnecessarily high learning curve. Would you please consider redesigning the keyboard to follow the standard, at least when it comes to our three stupid extra letters? Ref: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_layout#Swedish

    Regards!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Could any dev please comment on this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    +1 to this.

    The layout is really weird for us swedes, and the real layout is not that hard to implement. Sure, the letters will be a tad smaller, but still usable IMO.

    Made a mockup:



    As you can see, the icons are not that small on a FWVGA (480x854), not sure how it might look on smaller displays, or if you already provide different layouts for different screens?

    I threw in a smiley icon, too, because I cannot find how to do those in a simple way (is there another way besides inserting the characters one by one?). Also, the spacebar is really big 'cause I couldn't find anything else to put in there. Perhaps a hyphen/dash, instead of having to long-press the comma?

    This is a suggestion, but if this is not possible, just moving the "" character to where the "" is would be a start, 'cause it is there on a normal keyboard. The "" and "" aren't in their right places anyway.

    Thanks in advance!

  4. #4
    Yea, standard Swedish layout please. SlideIT got it right! Why can't Swype?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Any input on this from the devs? If this is not possible, please say so.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Leiden, Netherlands, Netherlands
    Posts
    4
    Yea, every time I Swype those 3 letters, I have to pause and look.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    I'm new to Swype but I had no problems getting used to all the short commands implemented in this fine software. The only difficulties I've had is those described in this thread. It's pretty hard getting used to another keyboard layout when the Swedish standard is etched in your marrow

    The suggestions made by filigran looks fantastic, I hope the developers will notice them!

  8. #8
    Dont seem like devs read this but I guess theres not much else you can do.

    +1 on this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Please devs, change this. It annoys us every day. Filigran's example was an excellent solution.

    Here is a clarification:
    This is current layout of swype


    Here is how the standard looks like (Look closely to the postion of the letter "","" and "" )



    Here is how the swype layout should be

    Last edited by droidgren; 03-23-2012 at 3:22 PM.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Keyboard layout
    By nivok2k in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 9:58 AM
  2. Change the french keyboard layout
    By anonymous in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 5:36 PM
  3. be able to set a default keyboard layout
    By havana in forum Feature Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 2:39 PM
  4. keyboard layout changes sporadically
    By McHoffa in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2011, 9:29 AM
  5. Order numbers in SYM menu to mimic standard keyboard
    By twellve in forum Feature Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 8:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts