+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: SWYPE freezes constantly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4

    SWYPE freezes constantly

    I have a mytouch Slide with T-Mobile 2.1 update 1.

    Swype came pre-installed and I have used it as the only keyboard/input method for two months completely successfully, happily and without any problems whatsoever.

    However, last week, just for the Hell of it, I switched to "Touch Input" just to check out that keyboard. I used it for a couple of days and switched back to Swype. Coincidence or not, but now Swype is freezing ALL THE TIME. Like every ten minutes or so. It simply will not take any characters by swyping or pecking. Even if I change input methods to dictation or touch, those do not work either. I can kill the swype process and sometimes it will work for a brief period, but usually I need to reboot the phone. This issue does not happen when in Dragon Dictation or Touch.

    What can I possibly do to get my Swype back and working?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    BUMP!

    Does no one have any suggestions or work-arounds or anything?
    Can't use Swype now is very frustrating.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,189
    Sorry for the delay. We've been quite busy at the offices lately!

    Can you please try going to Settings -> Applications -> Swype and clicking the "Clear Data" button.

    This issue often crops up when Swype is trying to scrape the user's address book and is either running into conflicts/errors, or encounters an address book that is larger than Swype is able to handle. We're looking into solutions for the general issue, but hopefully the steps suggested above will help work around the problem for now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Terrific, thanks for the reply Brian. I read your response about a half hour ago, did what you suggested, and have been Swyping since then without even one crash. I think that definitely solved the issue. Thank you again for the help.

  5. #5

    Swype doesn't show up in installed apps

    I don't understand why ever thread says go to apps and uninstall blah blah blah! I have Swype installed and love it but it keeps crashing my phone so I want to uninstall but can't. Apparently, I can't do that without root access. WTF is that!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    626
    If Swype was pre-installed on your device, your carrier/manufacturer loaded it as a system installed app. Talk to them about it. If your device is ICS or JB, you should be able to disable pre-installed apps.

    Quote Originally Posted by gsutton57 View Post
    I don't understand why ever thread says go to apps and uninstall blah blah blah! I have Swype installed and love it but it keeps crashing my phone so I want to uninstall but can't. Apparently, I can't do that without root access. WTF is that!

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. liscence constantly expiring
    By quartertonroche in forum Android Bug Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 4:12 PM
  2. constantly having to relicense
    By turbobee in forum Android Bug Reports
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 5:22 PM
  3. Swype constantly FCing on Droid X
    By abbeym in forum Android Bug Reports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2010, 9:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts