PDA

View Full Version : Installing swype on HTC Inspire

bmunger
02-19-2011, 7:44 AM
I'm new to the droid family. I just got the HTC Inspire and I'm trying to install swype on it. The problem I'm having is I downloaded the installer,it went into the file manager astro that I got from the market. In the Astro program I select sdcard, then download, then I select any one of the 3 swype installer downloads I have because I thought I was doing something wrong so I downloaded the installer 3 times. So I select one and hit open app manager, then install, then it tells me for security you phone is set to block apps that aren't optained from the market. So I select settings like the instructions say to do. But then I'm not given the option to select unknown sources like the instruction say. The only options I'm Given are manage applications, running services, development, and fast boot. I looked through all these and see nothing that has to do with swype. I guess at this point I would like to remove the 3 installer downloads that I have And start all over with some help

rob.boehm
02-20-2011, 1:02 AM
Please check this thread on installing non market apps on ATT devices.

.//edit
Whoops, forgot link: http://forum.swype.com/showthread.php?2288-Phone-set-to-block-installation-of-apps-not-in-Android-market-ATT-Devices

sam8940
02-23-2011, 3:27 PM
Google android central sideload wonder machine

rhousedorf
02-26-2011, 9:04 PM
Robert, I'm sorry, but I don't see a link.
Using chrome.

Also, sideload wonder machine does not work. You can install the Installer, but when you run the installer, you get the same android error message. I'm currently trying to figure out where the installer downloads the .apk of swype itself to, so I can use sideload wonder machine to install it.

rhousedorf
02-26-2011, 9:18 PM
This is the link
http://forum.swype.com/showthread.php?2288-Phone-set-to-block-installation-of-apps-not-in-Android-market-ATT-Devices

rhousedorf
02-26-2011, 10:54 PM