PDA

View Full Version : Should we install upgrades on pre-installed Swype?



Caplanjr
12-07-2010, 8:04 PM
I've installed the beta upgrade on my My Touch 3g. Should I do so on my Galaxy Tab, which has Swype pre-installed?

DonCorneo
12-09-2010, 5:33 PM
The answer is no, do not install any Beta Swype on a phone that had Swype pre-installed.
This apparently causes an issue where you can not get Swype back at all.
It is said that Swype Beta is not meant to be installed on a phone that has Swype pre-installed.

Fone_Fanatic
12-10-2010, 5:18 AM
If you install it on a device that came preloaded with it, it will disable the preloaded one and the installed one won't work also un-installing it doesn't fix the issue and your stuck with having to do a hard reset (unless you know your way around the system files)

That being said there is a work around! Head on over to the Droid X section in this forum and look at the post about how to install swype on devices that came preloaded with it.

I just did this with my dell streak and it worked fine!
Be aware that the layout and theme will be gone and set to default swype ones.

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk