PDA

View Full Version : Installer immediately fails with "network problem" (trying to reinstall again)



flipertygibit
10-24-2010, 11:40 AM
Swype stopped swyping for me, so I'm trying to reinstall it again. I've done this quite a few times, but now the installer _always_ fails.

My MySwype page shows no associated phone.

The installer immediately (after pressing login) fails to a dialog with the title and message "Swype Installation Failed: The data network experienced a problem. Please try again."

Well, I've tried again and again and again... 3G, Wifi, facing North, standing on my head, and blindfolded.


I've now been without Swype for a week, and the withdrawal symptoms are getting serious. ;)

rob.boehm
10-25-2010, 3:58 PM
Issue is known and detailed here: http://forum.swype.com/showthread.php?993-KNOWN-BETA-for-Android-ISSUES-Please-read-before-posting-(UPDATE-9-23-10)

Please follow the uninstall instructions to the 'T' before reinstalling.

flipertygibit
10-25-2010, 6:14 PM
AAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG GGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

DroidWall was blocking it. Don't know how I screwed that up.

Install just finished.

Alright, excuse me while I go shoot myself in the foot.

V_RocKs
11-12-2010, 2:15 AM
Issue is known and detailed here: http://forum.swype.com/showthread.php?993-KNOWN-BETA-for-Android-ISSUES-Please-read-before-posting-(UPDATE-9-23-10)

Please follow the uninstall instructions to the 'T' before reinstalling.

I searched that page and THIS error cannot be found anywhere on the page.

brian.resnik
11-12-2010, 7:52 AM
Please make sure you don't have any other devices conflicting with the installation, and that you have a solid WiFi signal. Because the installation is so large, it's been known to have trouble over 3G/data.

pantera70
11-13-2010, 12:18 AM
+1 on this problem... have tried every possible solution with no joy.

engino
11-16-2010, 4:37 PM
Same issue here. Mytouch 3g OS 2.2.1

rob.boehm
11-24-2010, 6:38 PM
@pantera70 @engino

Do either of you have any application firewalls or task killers like DroidWall installed?

Also please include the information requested in the Posting Guidelines: http://forum.swype.com/showthread.php?994-POSTING-GUIDELINES-READ-ME-FIRST-Get-BETA-for-Android-troubleshooting-help

pantera70
12-03-2010, 1:39 AM
@pantera70 @engino

Do either of you have any application firewalls or task killers like DroidWall installed?

Also please include the information requested in the Posting Guidelines: http://forum.swype.com/showthread.php?994-POSTING-GUIDELINES-READ-ME-FIRST-Get-BETA-for-Android-troubleshooting-help


Problem still persists...

HTC Desire
T-Mobile UK
Rooted / S-Off
CM 6.1 rc2

No wall or taskkiller installed

Message reads...

"The dtata network experienced a problem. Please try again"

Have tried over mobile and wifi with no luck.

brian.resnik
12-03-2010, 10:30 AM
Quite simply this means that you're experiencing a connection problem. For one reason or another, your device isn't able to create or maintain a connection to the Swype servers. We know this isn't a problem with our service (as thousands of other users are able to successfully download) so you'll need to troubleshoot your own device to figure out why the connection is being blocked. Sorry :(